By Robert Cohen Executive Director Text Only

GOT ALLERGIES?


MILK-FREE DIET

Butter, butter fat, butter oil, buttermilk, calcium
caseinate, caramel, casein, curd, custard, lactalbumin,
lactose, luncheon meats, milk chocolate, nougat, pudding,
rennet, simplesse, yogurt, whey, non-kosher hot dogs &
sausages. Most margarines. The letter "D" on the front of a
product label, next to a Kosher symbol (K or U), designates
the presence of milk protein.

EGG-FREE DIET

Albumin, egg lecithin, egg substitutes, globulin, livetin,
lysozyme, mayonnaise, meringue, ovalbumin, ovomucin,
ovomucoid, ovovitellin, simplesse, A shiny glaze or yellow
baked goods usually indicate the presence of eggs.

WHEAT-FREE DIET

Bran, bread crumbs, bulgar, cereal extracts, couscous,
cracker meal, durum, durum flour, enriched flour, farina,
gluten, graham flour, high-gluten flour, high-protein flour,
kamut, seitan, semolina, spelt, vital gluten. Label
ingredients-gelatinized starch, hydrolyzed vegetable
protein, modified food starch, modified starch, soy sauce,
natural flavoring, starch, vegetable gum, vegetable starch.

PEANUT-FREE DIET

Beer nuts, cold pressed peanut oil(usually can eat peanut
oil, but NOT cold pressed-check the label), ground nuts,
mixed nuts, Nu-nuts flavored nuts. Dishes that often contain
peanut protein-African, Chinese, Tai, Vietnamese, Indonesian
dishes. baked goods(pastries etc.), candy, chili, chocolate,
egg rolls, hydrolyzed plant protein, hydrolyzed vegetable
protein, marzipan, nougat.

SOY-FREE DIET

Hydrolyzed soy protein, miso, shoyu sauce, tamari, tempen,
textured vegetable protein(TVP), tofu. Ingredients with soy
protein- hydrolyzed plant protein, hydrolyzed vegetable
protein, natural flavoring, vegetable broth, vegetable gum,
vegetable starch. Most soy allergic individuals CAN eat soy
lecithin, and soy oil.

TREE NUT-FREE DIET

All common mixed type nuts, gianduja, hickory nuts,
macadamia nuts, marzipan/almond paste, nougat, nut butters,
nut meal, nut oil, nut paste, pine nuts. These lists are
meant to be a helpful reference, but are by no means
complete. Refer to your medical provider for any questions
regarding foods that you should avoid for specific
allergies.


Robert Cohen author of:   MILK A-Z
(201-871-5871)
Executive Director (notmilkman@notmilk.com)
Dairy Education Board
http://www.notmilk.com


Do you know of a friend or family member with one or more of these milk-related problems? Do them a huge favor and forward the URL or this entire file to them.

Do you know of someone who should read these newsletters? If so, have them send an empty Email to notmilk-subscribe@yahoogroups.com and they will receive it (automatically)!